Our Mission

At Hockey Helps the Homeless we leverage Canada’s affinity for hockey to raise awareness and financial support for the homeless through education, fundraising, and by partnering with solutions-based local homeless support agencies.


HHTH-AnnualReport

2017-2018 Annual Report

Click below to review our first ever Hockey Helps the Homeless Annual Report
 

View Annual Report (11.3 MB)

Audited Financials

Click below to view the 2017 Hockey Helps the Homeless' Audited Financial Statements
 

View AUDITED FINANCIALS


Our History

  1. 1996

    1996

    In 1996, Hockey Helps the Homeless (HHTH) was born from a simple idea – use hockey to help Toronto’s most needy. A group of Toronto businessmen used donated ice time at then Maple Leaf Gardens to host a charity hockey Tournament for friends and colleagues. The inaugural Tournament, then called Hockey for the Homeless would raise just over $8,000.

  2. 1997

    1997

    In 1997, the founders would use the funds to create 300 survival kits. The men took to the streets to hand deliver the kits to Toronto’s most vulnerable.

  3. 1999

    1999

    In 1999, Hall of Famer Mike Gartner, friends of one of the HHTH Founding Members suggested the Tournament be turned into a Pro-Am. Mike would later become Honorary Chair of Hockey Helps the Homeless.

  4. 2004

    2004

    In 2004 the second HHTH Tournament was launched in Montreal, QC. Held annually at Sportplexe Pierrefonds, the Montreal Tournament continues today as one of the largest held across Canada.

  5. 2008

    2008

    In 2008, HHTH expanded to Calgary, AB, Vancouver, BC and the Nation’s Capital, Ottawa, ON. The Vancouver Tournament is the largest in terms of number of teams, gross revenue and net to charity.

  6. 2013

    2013

    In 2013, HHTH launched its second Tournament in Alberta and the Battle of Alberta raged on. Both Edmonton and the Bay St. Tournament share their inaugural year.

  7. 2014

    2014

    In 2014, the OHL markets came to play. Tournaments in Kitchener-Waterloo, Barrie and London launched in 2014 as well as the first ever HHTH Collegiate Tournament at Queen’s University.

  8. 2015

    2015

    In 2015, the University of Western Ontario followed suit and became the second ever HHTH Collegiate

  9. 2016

    2016

    In 2016, the Durham College Collegiate Tournament was launched in partnership with the Sport Management Program. It was also in 2016 that Hockey Helps the Homeless celebrated its 20th Anniversary and over $10,000,000 raised!

  10. 2018

    2018

    2018 will see the launch of a new tournament in Halifax, NS in support of VETS Canada in November. HHTH is now Coast to Coast across Canada! 
     

  11. 2019

    2019

    HHTH adds Tournaments in Mississauga, ON in support of Raising the Roof and Winnipeg, MB, home of our National Founding Sponsor, Great-West Life.

LOCAL CONTACTS

BARRIE

Michael Whyte - Committee Chair

michael.whyte@hhth.com

CALGARY

Michael Tseng - Committee Chair

michael.tseng@freedom55financial.com

EDMONTON

Ryan Baillie - Executive Director, HHTH

ryan@hhth.com

HALIFAX

Don Murray - Committee Chair

don.murray@freedom55financial.com

KITCHENER-WATERLOO

Rob Way - Committee Chair

rob.way@hhth.com

LONDON

Tracy Marino - Committee Co-Chair

tracy@lstar.ca

LONDON

Chip Allan - Committee Co-Chair

cgallan55@gmail.com

YORK REGION (MARKHAM)

Scott Page - Director, Hockey Operations, HHTH

scott@hhth.com

MONTREAL

Corry Kelahear - Committee Co-Chair

corry.kelahear@reebokccm.com

MONTREAL

Michael Coughlin - Committee Co-Chair

mcoughlin@redbourne.ca

BAY ST. (TORONTO)

Donna-Lee Waymann - Commitee Chair

dlw@hhth.com

UNIVERSITY EVENTS

Matt DiPasquale - Manager, Hockey Operations, HHTH

matt@hhth.com

VANCOUVER

Ewan French - Committee Chair

ewan@hhth.com